The Eye Unit Continues to Amaze


On Thursday of this week I got a interesting letter through from the eye unit appointments,  it contained 3 letters one saying my appointment was at 1 o’clock on Tuesday another saying it was at 2 o’clock and another saying it was at 3 o’clock now put that into context that I already had an appointment booked for this morning I was rather confused.

So I phoned the appointments line and was told that it was an error on the system, I needed to keep my Saturday appointment and that the appointment on Tuesday is actually at 1 o’clock.

So I got up at 6:30 Saturday morning,  fed Gus Got us both ready and headed out to get the 8:05 bus to Southampton General Eye Unit. Those of you that know me well will be aware that I am not a morning person at the best of times but on a Saturday, getting to the hospital for 8:45 was very difficult. My Bus was unfortunately late so I was about 5 minutes late for my appointment but the receptionist was very nice about it and because it was  a really small clinic with 30 patients and 3 doctors seeing them all they simply swapped me around so I was not late at all!

I’m getting to know the nurses quite well on the eye unit now, we are on first name terms in most cases they all love my dog and we have a bit of a laugh when I read out the lowest line of the eye chart I can see and they have no idea what I am going on about! (Due to the fact that all the letters are wrong)

So I did the distance vision test which is a laugh then went to have drops put in my eyes as normal in a attempt to dilate my pupils, I normally have to have 2 different kinds which normally don’t work to well anyway I told the nurse that I needed 2 different types and she assured me that I did not.

10 minutes later and I am approached and told I was right all along and that I need another lot of eye drops!

Anyhow I went in to see the doctor who was confused as to why I was there on the Saturday when I am going next Tuesday anyway, there where no consultants around because it was a Saturday so the doctor did all the usual checks and discovered that my Glaucoma was sky high in my left eye, the pressure is supposed to be around the 18 mark, my left eye was scoring 30. The doctor then got a bit worried and asked me a million questions and told me not to panic, I was very chilled out about it because I know eye pressures is all ways higher in the morning and after all the eye drops they had put in my eye must have had some effect on the pressure. Quite frankly the Doctor was telling me not to panic but she was more than me she then looked through my notes and pondered.

At the end of the day unfortunately my combination of eye conditions is both rather rare and complicated for this reason these days I all ways see a consultant so poor little registrar was evidently feeling rather out of her depth and did not know what to do. 

So I got a sorry I really don’t get why you are here right now and make sure you keep your appointment on Tuesday because I have no idea what to do!

Bless!

So I got up at 6:30 AM on a Saturday to go to the hospital for no reason, I remain unimpressed!

Seriously the appointments system is both fragile and ridiculously inefficient, 2 appointments in 4 days at the same place, now that’s just bizarre.

Also I used to get my appointment letters in large print,  but since moving to a new appointments system they are no longer able to produce the letters in large print, this is the eye unit the place where pretty much every patient could do with an accessible letter! I asked if my letters could in that instance be emailed through to me and was told that the system would not allow that either.

One thought on “The Eye Unit Continues to Amaze

  1. Wow I’m not a morning person either. Especially on a Saturday! You would think they would at least be able to email you about the appointments. They should have an email address, even if they send you out a letter and emailed you just so you know. Do they at least call to remind you about the appointments?

    Like

Leave a Reply

