Avastin is go!


Well today’s trip to the eye unit was LONG  over 4 hours long in fact so that was fun, especially as I have developed some form of cold/flu thing.

My pressures (as predicted by me) have gone back down to normal and the opinion of the consultant I saw was that it was they dilating drops that made it read so high on Saturday.

I had to have another Fundus Fluorescein Angiography which is a diagnostic procedure used to look at the blood vessels at the back of the eye in involves injecting a small amount of dye called Fluorescein into the blood stream so it can be watched going through the blood vessels and any leaky ones can be seen and photographed.

Last time the nurse got the cannula into the vein on the inside of my elbow first time, on this occasion however it took 5 attempts involving 2 technicians, 2 nurses and eventually a doctor!

It was a very crowded room and although it is mostly funny (I was trying to laugh about being a pin cushion) things got so desperate that one of the nurses went for the vein that runs kind of down the side of your thumb to wrist area and wowser that hurt a lot more than any of the others and worst still it failed!

So eventually a doctor had to come down because the nurses are only allowed 2 attempts each and after the second nurse they have to go up to doctor level, and the doctor got it first time, I had the test and all was well.

Then I saw a consultant who looked at the test results and had a little look at my eyes and basically there is still an active area of leaking from the blood vessels that should not be there, as the funding has been approved that means all systems are go and I should hear when my appointment is going to be within 2 weeks.

This is all good but there is however a slight down side.

Due to the complications of having glaucoma and Nystagmus (uncontrollable eye movement) and my eye history the consultants got together and decided that it would be better for me to have the injection done in theater. 

Instead of being in and out in 5 minutes as a outpatient I am going to be an in patient spending the majority of a day on the ward and due to it being done in theatre no hand holding companions will be allowed, I will be fine but it adds a whole new dimension to everything and is a little naff.

In total I will have 3 injections directly into my eye of Avastin each one will be 6 weeks apart and then after the last one I will have another Fundus Fluorescein Angiography to see how things stand, the good thing about all this is that hopefully most of that will fall over the summer break so there should not be too much disturbance to next years uni.

One thought on “Avastin is go!

Leave a Reply

