BBC NEWS | Health | System ‘failing autistic adults’


BBC NEWS | Health | System ‘failing autistic adults’.

It’s sad but a very true story that many people are struggling to live with autistic spectrum disorders they don’t know they have.

I personally have a friend who has recently found out that 10 years ago she was wrongly diognosed with Bipolar disorder and placed on a cocktail of drugs to ‘normalise’ her moods. This combination of drugs taken for so long has damaged her body to the point where she had to stop taking them (fully supported by a mental health team and her family).

Since coming off the medication she has been diagnosed as having Asperges and it is very unlikely she ever had Bipolar disorder!

2 thoughts on “BBC NEWS | Health | System ‘failing autistic adults’

  1. I can relate to that – though I wasn’t as unlucky as your friend. I was only diagnosed with my ASD in 2007 when I was 22. Up until then it had just been assumed I was simply shy or immature or in some cases plain selfish, when it was actually due to my ASD.

    Like

Leave a Reply

