BBC NEWS | Health | ‘No shows’ cost the NHS millions


BBC NEWS | Health | ‘No shows’ cost the NHS millions.

I had to write about this purely because I have had a very bad experience or two.

For example I once received an eye appointment for the same day at two o’clock, three o’clock and four o’clock they all arrived in the post on the same day in three separate envelopes, I had to phone up to try and establish what the hell was going on.

Another time I got sent an appointment at 9 am on a Saturday morning and another one for the Tuesday only a few days later both in the same envelope, I phoned (again) to check this was correct and was told that yes it was right. I turned up on the Saturday and know one could quite work out why I was there, my consultant was not even in and the doctor actually apologised for the ‘error’ even though it was not her fault!

Then there is the local podiatry service who ring me up less than 30 minutes before my appointment to cancel it, when I am already sat on the bus on my way, they have done this twice now.

Oh and then there is the time said podiatry administrator rang me when I was in town to tell me about a change in my appointment, with bags of food shopping, heavy rucksack, guide dog, wearing my non-prescription sunglasses and balancing the phone on my shoulder. She babbled possible appoinment times at me I said I did not have my diary out or a pen so I did not know when I was free and could not write it down.  She said I had to pick one,I said any.

She read the time and day out again  and I said could you email me that please, she said no.

I asked if  she could send me a letter in large print, she said no.

I asked if I could have a letter in standard print, she said no.

I asked if she could phone me back in 30 minutes she said no.

I asked if she could phone me back straight away and leave me a voice mail with the info, she said no, (abruptly).

I pointed out once again that I could not write it down, due to the fact that in those moments stood there in the sun I was blind, she said I should write it down told me when it was one more time and hung up!

Unfortunately this is just a brief outline of the experiences I have had in Southampton when trying to sort out hospital/doctors appointments, I have spent over a year attempting to get my appointments from the eye unit sent to me in large print without success, it’s the EYE UNIT!

Don’t get me wrong I think the NHS is great heck I get enough out of it, but my point is that it is no wonder people miss appoinmtnents with administration systems like the ones near me!

Leave a Reply

