I’m Still Here


I have not quit blogging, died or had some terrible accident that has resulted in the lack of posting – I have just been very busy.

A woman with a white guide dog sat on her left

Mum and Tara

University is as hectic as ever, things still fail to run smoothly it seems like the rest of my formal education at university is going to be an uphill struggle against inaccessibility, primitive attitudes towards inclusion and a complete lack of organisation that runs through the place. In short its not going to well, is very stressful but also interesting/fun.

Whilst on the subject of education I did not escape the funding crisis of the student loans failings. Admittedly I applied late but I am still to reciee my student loan. There have been multiple phone calls to my LEA (Local Education Authority) and I am assured it will al be sorted within 6 weeks. Here’s hoping I get some money soon it has been a seriously living on the breadline.

A lot has happened since my last post here, my eye condtion has stableised which was a nice surpise, I never really know how long that will last but its  a bit of a relief.

I now confess to having a bit of a caffeine addiction. I have discovered the wonder that is an expresso and its good! I love a good coffee more than I ever have before. Redbull and other highly caffeinated drinks have got me through some seriously dull lectures and for this I am thankful.

My mum’s Guide Dog Ian has retired and she has trained with a new guide dog called Tara. So now as I am home for Christmas we are a 3 dog household which is a bit of a shock to the system for all of us dogs included.

I have a job! I work 10 hours a week from home or uni or wherever I am really. I am a community executive for a word of mouth project at uni. I recovered from the train journey to get to the training and the 5 days of basically being stuck at a service station in the middle on nowhere with internet at £5 an hour!

Mark and I

I am in love, for those of you that don’t stalk me on facebook I am now in a relationship with a fantastic guy from the Hampshire VI Cricket team called Mark. He also did the Guide Dogs sponsored event that I roped him into.

Writing of cricket I should also mention that I am now joint player welfare officer for Hampshire VICC. I am sharing the position at the moment because I have to do a few courses in child protection before I can officially take on  the role but it’s still great stuff.

This first term at uni I have also found faith in the man upstairs, I go to the christian Union at uni most weeks and also go to Life Church Southampton. The CU guys are a fantastic bunch and very kindly brought me a large print bible which means the world to me. We also went Ice skating together Just before christmas I can’ ice skate but went along anyway and it was a great evening dispite it being really cold!

Heres a few of us in Winchester, I’m not quite sure who took the photo, if I was I would attribute it but hey ho, it’s originally from facebook in the public doman so please don’t sue me people!

A Group of people

CU and Friends Iceskating 09

2 thoughts on “I’m Still Here

  1. Hello Jemma, happy new year from Will from Fareham. i have the new third generation ipod touch. How do you access the text to speech facility. i like the new site. see you soon Will

    Like

    • Hi Will there are two different ways of doing it.
      One way is to plug it into your computer and open up iTunes Click on the name of your ipod in the left panel.That should bring you to a screen where you will see a picture of your iPod and there are a few buttons for updating the software and resetting your iPod. If you scroll down you will see a grey button in the middle at the bottom of the page that says something like ‘configure universal access’. Clicking on it will open up the universal access panel and one of the selections is to turn VoiceOver on.

      The other way of doing it is to go to settings on the device, then to general settings, down to accessibility and then selecting VioceOver and turning it on that way.

      I will warn you that turning on VioceOver changes the way all the gestures work that you normally use so it may be a little strange to start with.

      Like

Leave a Reply

