BBC News – ‘Internet addiction’ linked to depression, says study


BBC News – ‘Internet addiction’ linked to depression, says study.

Being addicted to the internet has some link to depression, although what makes up a addiction problem with the internet is not clear. Also unclear is what leads to what, weather depression causes people to become addicted to the internet or the reverse.

The study has received mixed responses from experts in the field of mental health. Some are critical of the theory saying that the data collected was bias because the researchers used social networking websites to recruit the participants.

Thinking of this on a personal level it reminds me that my mum always suggests that I use the internet too much, she thinks I have a addiction problem with being online. I also have depression and whether the two are linked in my case I am  not sure so I am going to continue to ponder.

Leave a Reply

