I’ve Had A Needle Stuck In My Eye AGAIN!


It’s official on Tuesday I visited the eye unit and had my second injection of a drug called Avastin.

The aim of this needle poking is to make some blood vessels at the back of my eye that should not be there wither and die! It’s these tiny blood vessels that cause hemorrhages that damage my Macular that then lead to vision loss.

The process of being injected involves having lots of rather stingy local anesthetic eye drops placed in you offending eye. Then the whole area is cleaned with orange surgical grade antiseptic including the eye-ball. Then more this time slightly less stingy anesthetic eye drops. It’s at this point things get interesting a clip is then applied to hold both the upper and lower eye lids open, this is not to fun and I did feel some discomfort all the way along with the clip on my eye this time.  The big guns then come out local anesthetic is then injected underneath the cornea in the area around where the injection is going to go, this also stings a bit.  Finally it is time for the final and biggest needle yet the one containing the Avastin. The only way this can really be described is its like someone poking you in the eye with a needle the initial area where it goes in is numb but as soon as it pierces the white area of the eye it hurts.

Upon leaving the hospital I was given the advice that my eye would probably hurt later and that I would probably need to take some painkillers inside my head I was thinking actually I need some right now!

Tuesday and Wednesday my pain was on and off pretty bad its like someone has punched you hard in the eyeball alone, in effect your eye is bruised. I will say this time I looked less like something from a horror movie as my eye did not go blood-red.

3 thoughts on “I’ve Had A Needle Stuck In My Eye AGAIN!

  1. Hello, I am at the point where my eye doctor wants me to have the injections too. I’ve read what you and others have said about Avastin. I trying to find it out if it is safe? Have you had any adverse reactions to the shot?

    Thanks

    Like

  2. The title of this post caught my attention….. Because today I can say exactly the same….. I too have had needles in the eye AGAIN! Thankfully though I must have a very skilled eye doc because in the few separate stabbings in the eye that I have had, I have NEVER felt pain. This is the first post of yours that I have read, so I look forward to reading more especially on the eye. I don’t know anyone else who has has bleeding vessels and required injections to the eye…. It’s just a place that needles shouldn’t go!!! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

