Spurred into action


Well bloggers its been a while quite frankly hasn’t it? In truth I have been rather apathetic when it comes to keeping the blogosphere updated in the world of Jemma Brown, this is in part has been due to sheer busyness but also a slight lack of motivation.

However this morning all that has gone I am ready to blog I am unsure as to whether it is the sleep deprivation, the mixture of caffeine and sugar rushing through my system or just my puzzlement and need to share it with someone who will understand – not that I totally expect this blog post to be understood by the masses. This last view point is not because it is complicated but because i myself am confused.

I’ve just read that NICE is withdrawing funding for the cancer drug Avastin.

The article is sketchy but this is a worry for me, Avastin is the drug that I periodically have injected into my right eye to help prevent the impending explosion of blood vessels that will without being kept in check result in my loosing all the vision in my right eye.

The treatment I have received three times now (I think – it might be two, I honestly can’t remember) without it I would have lost all the vision in my right eye by now. Don’t get me wrong my right eye is rubbish, it has always been the less useful of the two but as i am sure my readers will appreciate any vision no matter how little is precious.

So anyway back to the point in hand I am still researching as to whether the drug is also being withdrawn for its use in the treatment of Wet Macular Degeneration… Its a complicated issue so I am going to just ask my consultant when I see him next week.

One thought on “Spurred into action

  1. I’m sorry to hear about the treatment being pulled. I hope that you can find another way to maintain the sight you do have. I hope things work out.

    Alkatraz

    Like

Leave a Reply

