Dragon Dictate


MacSpeech Dictate has now become Dragon Dictate and I have just, with in the last 24 hours updated period in fact I’m using it right now to write this entire blog post.

Since upgrading to Mac OS Snow Leopard MacSpeech Dictate failed to work as it was not compatible, forcing an upgrade at the time I decided against it as MacSpeech Dictate used to drive me mad with its lack of accuracy. I spent more time correcting MacSpeech Dictate then I did actually using it to be to dictate text the commands were difficult to master and the whole process seemed totally unnatural. Added to my frustrations was that I also had a US version which just seem to further complicate matters.

Previously I had to use Dragon NaturallySpeaking or Windows based computers and found this to be largely successful was completing my A-levels, some of my coursework was completed in its entirety using their software without spending hours training and constantly correcting it so my hopes MacSpeech Dictate were quite high; I was very disappointed.

I said quite recently that DragonDictate had been a huge leap forward in terms of speech recognition to the  Mac OS, I decided somewhat uncertainly that I would give it a bash and I must say I’m very pleasantly surprised!

After very little training the speech software is able to do a very good job of recognising my speech, it makes very few mistakes, and most of these I can tell are due to my own hesitation/slurring of words or commands (no I’m not drunk)!

My only criticism is that the processing speed seems quite slow, although this could be because I speak quite fast,  all because of my computers processing speed however I am using a 2008 MacBook Pro.

I have had the software less than 24 hours and still is fiddling around with the correct ratio between speed and accuracy, but I would seriously recommend it.

I have deliberately left in mistakes in this post as I wanted to give a real representation of the accuracy I am achieving after having the software less than 24 hours, so please forgive me! you are

Leave a Reply

