Wow Excitement at geekish levels!


Well I appreciate this post will bore most of you in to a stupor of non caring existence ant that your opinion of me will perhaps change to one that sees me as some who blows their own trumpet. This is a risk i am willing to take because I am proud of my achievements!

I should explain for the beginning – Way back as a teenager in secondary school I was started on a programme of touch typing using Mavis Beacon Teaches typing. I used this software once or twice a week to help me learn to touch type. At the time I hated it and sometimes sat at the computer on my own doing nothing except possibly eating the bar of chocolate I had stowed about my person, of course I quickly lurched into action if there was a teacher around! Some days the cheating was impossible and I kind of liked the idea of being able to type really fast without looking at the computer keyboard, plus my parents and teachers regularly told me how important the ability to type would be in my life – for all the skiving and the boredom I did take it seriously! Even back then I knew that my hand writing was incomparable to even my peers with the scruffiest writing, I often struggled to read my own hand writing and positively felt sorry for my teachers who had to read anything I had written in a hurry.

Progress was PAINFULLY slow but I stuck at it, my journey was helped greatly but the sudden emergence of (as it was back then) MSN Messenger, I guess this increased the amount of time I spent typing even if I was hunched over the computer keyboard looking at the large print yellow on black keyboard stickers!

Bare in mind at school and to an extent college I was expected to hand write during class, most homework assignments had to go into our exercise books at school, My typing was considered to be at to infant a level for me to be eligible to use a Laptop in classes, this is probably true it was probably not yet faster for me to type than it was to write but I perhaps feel for everyone’s sake it may have been easier for everyone to read if I had typed it. Eventually I must have been in year 9 or maybe even year 10 my typing was considered fast enough to warrant me being loaned a laptop, a whopping 37 words a minute (WPM) I belive. The first laptop I was given I eagerly carried home, turned on and it crashed, I got a blue screen of death and then it turned itself off. It was replaced a few days later by what can only be described as a BEAST of a laptop, it was incredibly heavy and brick like, the power pack was quite possibly the size of a standard house brick and equally as heavy.

So anyway back to the topic in hand since using a laptop more first at school, college and then full-time at university and for play my typing speed has improved greatly.

I got an incredibly sense of nostalgia when whilst wandering thought Apples new App store I came across Mavis Beckon teaches typing ’11 ultimate edition.

I was however disappointed to discover its impossible to make the practice fonts bigger in this new edition, meaning I made mistakes because  I could not read what I was supposed to be typing unless I hunched with my head very close to the screen which is not good posture for typing! As a result my average WPM scores were incredibly disappointing!

However there is a silver lining to the situation here. I discovered this evening that the Mavis Beacon software has a built in visual typing gauge that can be viewed whilst you type in any document or frame.

It has spent most of its time whilst i have been writing this sat around the 80 to 100 WPM mark, the scale only goes up to 100 WPM.

This is exciting! considering the adverse human being speaks at roughly 90 words a minute this is a very good thing.

Leave a Reply

