Do you remember the first time you saw a guide dog?


I often wonder about this, I grew up with mum’s guide dogs so it was a totally normal concept for me. I wonder what it’s like for people who don’t have a family member or friend with a guide dog.

I’m interested in your thoughts, when did you first meet a guide dog? What were your first impressions?

Paws For Thought

I remember the first time I ever came into contact with a guide dog. I was in first class in primary school, so about seven years old. A woman called Sheila must have been visiting an older class in the school, and had been asked to come into our class with her dog Beth. I think she was a golden lab retriever. I remember thinking she was quite big and very soft compared to our pet dog, but now I know that’s because guide dogs are so well groomed. I remember feeling the harness on the dog as it sat, and she explained how you weren’t really meant to touch the dog when it had the harness on, but of course i could.
I was fairly shy at this stage, so although I knew from a young age that I wanted a dog, I don’t think I asked her too…

View original post 248 more words

2 thoughts on “Do you remember the first time you saw a guide dog?

Leave a Reply

