“So, did you walk into town? Oh! I meant ‘wheel into town’ – well, you know what I mean…”


Scope's Blog

Guest post from Zoe Lloyd, a disability awareness trainer with Enhance the UK.

Zoe best photoWell, this is awkward. As a wheelchair user, I have been in this kind of situation many times. Personally I don’t find it awkward,
but I’m pretty sure the person who says it wants the ground to swallow them up.

When trying to talk to a disabled person, lots of people feel hyper-aware about the words they are using, and worry about saying the wrong thing.

It really doesn’t have to be this way – most disabled people I know don’t have a massive chip on their shoulder about language and terminology and can laugh about things. (Obviously offensive language and derogatory remarks are another matter).

I’ve also experienced the ‘does she take sugar?’ scenario. I had been going to the same hairdresser for years. But when I became a wheelchair user, suddenly one of the…

View original post 311 more words

Leave a Reply

