What Do Blind People See?


It’s an odd one in my eye that only sees light (as in if I’m in a dark room and you have a bright torch shining at my eye I MIGHT see something) my brain from time to time makes me jump as I see a blurry outline image of what I’m looking at.

Initially I got excited and thought this meant there was some hope so I started testing it.

By doing this I conclusively proved my eye can see practically nothing.

It remains interesting however that my brain takes images from my other eye and somehow translates them into rough outlines without any effort from me.

My brain doesn’t know I’m blind!

Same Difference

BBC journalist Damon Rose completely lost his sight as a child, but he says his world isn’t pitch black. So what exactly does he see?

It’s often assumed that blind people experience complete darkness, but in my experience this is far from the truth.

I appreciate this is going to sound odd coming from a blind person but when people ask me what I miss most about not being able to see, my answer is always “darkness”.

Let me explain. I am one of a very small number of people who have no sight whatsoever. I’m properly blind. A “total” as we used to say at school.

I lost my sight 31 years ago thanks to ill-advised surgery, and on my blind person’s registration certificate it has three, now very faded letters – NLP, no light perception.

The logical assumption is that when sight is snuffed out, a person must…

View original post 441 more words

Leave a Reply

