“My hearing aid isn’t an MP3 player!” #EndTheAwkward


Scope's Blog

Jo Verrent is the Senior Producer of Unlimited, a project which funds and gives mentoring support to disabled artists to produce ambitious work.

As part of our End the Awkward campaign, Jo shares some examples of people’s innocent ignorance when it comes to disability.

Woman smiling and standing next to a sign with Japanese characters Jo Verrent is Senior Producer at disability arts organisation Unlimited

I was working in a restaurant as a waitress and a customer put in a complaint as I had been ignoring him.

I just hadn’t heard him try and get my attention as he’d been whistling and shouting at me, but all whilst I had been facing the other way. He thought I was being rude deliberately.

It all ended up with him accusing me of making up being deaf as he said I spoke perfectly fine and, on being shown my hearing aid (which is a bone anchored one) – saying that it…

View original post 243 more words

Leave a Reply

