New year new you – NO!


Now there’s a phrase that’s branded about a lot at this time of year I have no idea who first coined the phrase but I hate it… I shall explain why and start by being a little pedantic!

First off lets get this straight it is impossible to create a new you at new year or any other time. Until science evolves to the point where we can clone humans this is fundamentally impossible. Yea bits of us can replaced – I have the cornea of a very kind hearted individual who agreed to be an organ and tissue donor upon their passing.

Here’s my next issue God created you PERFECT! Whatever quirks or traits you have where planned by God. You are a beautiful creation the idea of ditching all that beauty and perfection from God to create a new you just does not compute in my brain. God loves you infinitely the way you are and created you to be you and no one else. 

Then there is the issue of chronic illness for people like me there is no cure (or hope of a cure) my body is the body I was born with and no amount of diet changes or exercise will make that body function normally. 

That’s just a tiny taste of why The phrase grates on me so much!

So new year new you can do one!

Leave a Reply

