Woman With #EDS Fires Back After Being Accused of Misusing Disabled Parking | The Mighty


“I think it’s my turn to say something.”

Source: Woman With EDS Fires Back After Being Accused of Misusing Disabled Parking | The Mighty

 

This is a constant concern of mine initially when I first had a blue badge (UK disabled parking permit) as a blind individual with a guide dog I delt with people asking why I needed one when I could walk fine.

I used to have to justify it, even to friends and I know many others have too. Its all about being able to get your guide dog in and out of the car safely (if you have a guide dog). If the dog is traveling in the front footwell you need to be able to get the car door open as wide as it will go to get both dog and owner out safely, disabled parking bays allow for this and also if your dog is in the boot of the car many have extra space at the back  to allow you to get your dog out without standing in traffic. it makes things a lot safer for all involved. The second reason is parking closer makes it easier for a blind person to get into for example a  store safely. Navigating a car park with traffic can be tricky even with sighted assistance so the less time that is spent in the path of oncoming traffic the better.

Over the years I’ve become more than comfortable explaining that to people but now I have an additional need.

You see I also have EDS and if its a bad day I am DESPERATE to get in that blue badge spot. On a bad day for me I am in a lot of pain and my legs feel like they could buckle at any moment.

This is obviously something people can’t see its totally invisible – in fact I’m pretty sure most of my friends don’t get how bad my bad days are ( with the exception of the inner circle you know who you are) and why is this? because I spent years hiding it.

So basically people don’t judge you just can’t see how much pain the person next to you is in or what they are going through.

