Hear A New Song…


So First things first merry Christmas and a happy new year To all!

It got to that magical time when your phone contract comes to an end and I spent a lot of time researching which phone to get and the costs not only upfront but over the length of the contract – there was much pondering!

One of my main problems with my old phone was storage it had a software glitch that meant when it got nearly full things would stop working. I was constantly deleting content (which often did not free storage… it was a big glitch) and was very limited when it came to applications it was getting very frustrating!

Next thing to consider was the camera – that may sound strange for a blind person but I take photos all the time and I love taking pictures of nature… And I don’t have a camera so I want the camera on my phone to be my camera. Aside from the regular uses as a visually impaired person I also take pictures of stuff I can’t read then zoom in to the photo I snapped to read the information. This works great and I use it every day on everything from the cooking instructions on my dinner to reading a sign. 

I love music – pretty much all music! On my old phone I could store no music I could only stream. 

So I got a new phone better camera and vitally more storage I set it all up and immediately set it up to play music at the very best quality and save it in that format great! 

I listened through the phones speakers and I was impressed by the new quality and volume.  

Then I hit the sales and for complicated reasons I won’t go into brought some new Bluetooth headphones of reasonable quality. 

I set them up and started listening and I was blown away! 

Songs I’ve listened to probably hundreads of times had a brand new clarity, deeper base notes and genuinely sounded absolutely amazing even at relatively low volume. 

It was like I was hearing my music for the first time I kept switching genres I was eager to hear everything a fresh. 

I was hearing a new song… but it wasn’t a new song!

And it’s got me thinking this can be a bit like our relationship with God. 

We can get to a place of comfort, of status quo we have been plodding along with God and everything seems a bit bland and we don’t even realise we are approaching our relationship with God in a lack lustre way. 

I am not one for New Years resolutions – in fact for me personally I really dislike them but given a new year is about to start and it’s all about new beginnings here’s some thoughts. 

I want to tell you now to pick up some new headphones and hear a new song!

(Of course it’s not a new song, God is steadfast)

The way to do this is simple first you need to recognise that the song your listening to is starting to feel a bit tired. It’s all about how you think if you reconsider a pattern of behaviour in your mind it’s the first step to changing it – my apologies for sounding like a psychotherapist but take it from one that knows just changing the way you think is a big start and can have huge impacts on your daily life. 

Dig into your bible – simple! Don’t do this in a legalistic way out of duty do it because you want to know more of God and his word. I really recommend the YouVersion Bible app because you can switch between loads of different translations (which I think can often add even more to get stuck into) and there are reading plans on different topics. One of the things I love most about the reading plans is that if you miss a day (or 12) you click a button and it catches the plan up to the Callander. 

Seek out encouragement and fellowship these two can be separate but are often linked. Ask a friend to share there testimony over a coffee or ask someone about a time God has done a miracle in there life. You can also look for encouragement on Christian news websites and social media BE EXCITED AND EXPECTANT!

Pray

And on that note…

Lord God I pray you will ready our hearts and minds for the new songs you have for us to hear in 2017 and the old ones that we hear a new. Help us to live in a relationship with you that does not grow worn or tarnished over time help us to be alive in you and to live for you. 

Leave a Reply

